Sunday, November 30, 2014

Run Rocky Run…Rocky Balboa 5K (Philadelphia)


“You're gonna eat lightnin' and you're gonna crap thunder!” – Words of inspiration spoken by one of the hardest and toughest trainers the world has ever know, Mickey Goldmill, the trainer of champions. He takes average men and turns them into fighters by pushing them to their limits and going outside of their comfort zone. The only thing is, he really doesn’t exist, he is the tough trainer from the first Rocky movie played by Burgess Meredith, who incidentally played the Penguin in the 1970’s Batman show with Adam West. What does this have to do with the Rocky Balboa 5K in Philadelphia? Other than some tv/movie trivia, it really doesn’t have much of a place for this blog except a sort of witty and informative opening.
With that, it is a good quote from a great inspirational movie about a man training and struggling with life in order to be something. All he wants to do is accomplish what he sets his mind to, and with the great support of his trainers, friends and family; he can, will and does do it. Its one of those movies that is not just for men to watch for some rite of passage out of puberty, but a great movie for both men and women to be inspired by and push through anything.

The first annual Rocky Balboa 5K/10K run was held in Philadelphia on a cold and windy November day with a sellout participation of 7000 runners. This was going to be my second run back since my ankle decided to give out and it was feeling pretty good. I had been training since the last run every other day both cardio and weights and I had discovered the now my left shin and ankle were hurting a bit because I had been putting more pressure and supporting all the weight on it when running on the treadmill. So I was a bit worried, but I figured once I started stretching and getting warmed up it would be ok.
As I was driving down to the Museum of Art where the race would start and finish, in Rocky fashion, I began to think about the last race and what pitfalls I ran into. Now you remember those depression stations I talked about, well that wouldn’t be an issue this time because I had forgotten my GPS watch. I had debated turning around and getting it, but I thought about those depression stations and kept driving on. I also started to think about how I had to start walking before I could run and I thought about how I started way I the back of the pack; I wasn’t going to do that this time.  

After I had gotten down to the Art Museum and found my parking spot I started to get geared up and made sure I had everything I needed for the long walk over to the start point. Have I mentioned that it was freakin freezing out at this time of the day, if not I am now. I kept rethinking if I should have worn running pants instead of just my running shorts. However once I arrived to the area set-up for the event I saw a rather plump gentleman in his tighty whiteys dressed like Thunderlips (Hulk Hogan) from one of the Rocky Movies, oh and he had a life size Rocky made out of balloons, very creative. After seeing that I had zero right to complain about being cold.
As the time ticked by I kept stretching and testing my ankle and it was hurting and I figured I would do the normal walk then start running. When the race was about 15 minutes from the start we all began to line up at our respective running time area, as I was nursing the ankle I opted for the 10 minute mile instead of the 8 minute mile I had originally signed up for. The thousands of people began to filter in who were running the 5K the more anxious I got and the more my ankle hurt, or at least I thought in my mind. Finally the countdown began 5…4…3…2…1 and we were off and running. Yep, I said to hell with it and just started running instead of the walking start I anticipated doing.

The course was pretty much flat and straight with some minor obstacles of curbs and pot holes along the way. The only difficult part was that there were so many people it was hard to pass and with so many new runner s they didn’t know the runner etiquette of making sure to stay out of the way for faster runners. It’s a pain, but at I have to look at the lighter side and at least they were out and running. The course continued and I liked the fact that they had mile markers along with the way with the time lapse. I felt good and my ankle wasn’t hurting as much as I had thought it would, it still hurt a bit, but it felt good. I only walked a couple of times but I knew I had to do the final push once I saw the 3 mile marker loom ahead. The competitive nature within myself and the desire to push myself kicked in and I began to book it as fast as I could. I rounded the end and up a small hill to see the Art Museum come into view and it was beautiful. I then pressed harder and ignored whatever pain I had in my feet and passed one person after the other, there was the finish line and then I saw the clock, 28:15. That couldn’t haven’t been right, there was no way I ran than fast with a bad wheel and not feeling 100%, but whatever I just ran and I ran fast. I crossed the finish line and I saw my friend tony there waiting for me and he had been cheering me one as I crossed the line. I grabbed my medal and walked around a bit to catch my breath. I hung around a bit cheered on Tony as he began his 10k and I made my way back to the car.
Once at the car I started it and let the heater thaw me out and I began the drive back home. I felt really good that I completed under 29 minutes and since my normal time is between 25-27 minutes I knew I would e back to normal in no time, I didn’t realize how soon that would be. I had gotten home and began to rest when I got an email telling me the times had been posted. I just needed the confirmation that I did it under 29 minutes so I logged on and check out the times. What I saw next shocked me and excited me, I had actually completed the race in 27:37…I was not expecting that. I forgot about I started way in the back and the clock and gun time were different. I just couldn’t believe it, but I was and am still thrilled.

So now what? Well I keep running that’s what. I keep pushing myself and I get back to my original goal of 25 minutes and less. Now I seem to have a permanent lump on my ankle which I am going to have checked out and my ankle still hurts pretty good every now and then, but I now know I keep do this and get back on the path. I am going to keep pushing myself and I am going to beat my personal best. So for everyone with injuries that took them out of running, you can get back into this game and you will get back into this game.
Have fun and safe run,

JB




No comments:

Post a Comment